About the Ellis Chart

The Ellis Chart website provides comparative apprenticeship and certification information on designated trades in Canada. This includes both Red Seal trades and non-Red Seal trades

Key Features of the Ellis Chart

The Ellis Chart includes the following information for each trade for the province or territory where the trade is designated:

The purpose of the Ellis Chart is to give an easy comparison of trade programs. For more detailed information about the program in each province or territory, please refer to that province or territory’s apprenticeship website.

Maintaining the Ellis Chart

The Ellis Chart is produced by Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) in partnership with the Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA).

History

The Ellis Chart was formed after the first committee of provincial and territorial apprenticeship directors met in 1952. The committee met to compare training programs and discuss mutual recognition of certificates. They recognized the challenges due to the many differences across the country.

Apprenticeship programs had been formalized in each province and territory at various times in Canadian history. The result: separate and often different systems of training and certification.

Frank Ellis, then Director of Apprenticeship for Saskatchewan, sought a solution for the committee. He developed a detailed table that made it possible to compare provincial and territorial programs. Over the years, he continued to update his table to incorporate changes and new programs. This became known as the Ellis Chart and the federal government has been responsible for updating and publishing the table since 1972, when Ellis retired.
Date modified:

À propos du tableau Ellis

Le site Web du Tableau Ellis présente des données comparatives sur l’apprentissage et la reconnaissance professionnelle dans les métiers désignés au Canada, y compris sur les métiers désignés Sceau rouge et les métiers non désignés Sceau rouge.

Éléments clés du Tableau Ellis

Le Tableau Ellis comprend les renseignements ci-dessous pour chaque province ou chaque territoire où le métier est désigné :

Le but du Tableau Ellis est de faciliter la comparaison des programmes d’apprentissage de métiers. Pour obtenir des renseignements détaillés sur les programmes d’apprentissage de chaque province ou de chaque territoire, consultez le site Web de leur autorité en matière d’apprentissage.

Gestion du Tableau Ellis

Le Tableau Ellis est produit par Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC) en partenariat avec le Conseil canadien des directeurs de l’apprentissage (CCDA).

Histoire

Le Tableau Ellis a été créé à la suite de la première rencontre tenue par le comité formé des directeurs provinciaux et territoriaux de l’apprentissage en 1952. Les membres de ce comité se sont réunis pour comparer les programmes de formation et discuter de la reconnaissance mutuelle des certificats et ils ont reconnu les défis que représentaient les nombreuses différences au Canada.

Les programmes d’apprentissage ont été officialisés dans chaque province et chaque territoire à diverses époques de l’histoire du Canada, ce qui fait que les systèmes de formation et de reconnaissance professionnelle sont distincts et souvent différents.

Frank Ellis, alors directeur de l’apprentissage en Saskatchewan, a cherché une solution pour le comité. Il a conçu un tableau détaillé permettant la comparaison des programmes provinciaux et territoriaux. Au fil des années, il a constamment mis son tableau à jour pour y incorporer des changements et de nouveaux programmes. C’est ce que l’on appelle aujourd’hui le Tableau Ellis, dont la mise à jour et la publication sont la responsabilité du gouvernement fédéral depuis 1972, année du départ à la retraite de M. Ellis.

Date de modification :